93 visitors think this article is helpful. 93 votes in total.

Non-Fiction Book Reviews | Musings From a Redhead

Non fiction book reviews

Dec 12, 2017. “A linguistically dexterous, eloquently satisfying narrative debut.” A noted young poet unexpectedly boomerangs back into her parents' home and transforms the return into a richly textured story of an unconventional family and life. Read full book review. I Hear She's A Real Bitch by Jen Agg. “An inspiring. We love to read and to share our opinions and discoveries of literary gems and top-notch genre novels. Good books never go out of style, so please take time to peruse our website. “He, (Ned), told me he was disgusted with the way Ocean Catch was fishing,” Thomasina says. “He didn’t say why but I figured they must have been exceeding quotas or trawling illegally. You know, breaking some sort of sustainable fisheries things. But I was surprised, because he never cared about this stuff before. ‘Let the environmentalists worry about the environment,’ he used to say.” Review by Jana L. Perskie (MAY 11, 2014) North of Boston is Elisabeth Elo’s debut novel, and to me it is a real winner. It certainly held my interest and I found that, at times, I was unable to put this books down.

Next

Nonfiction Book Reviews | Kirkus Reviews

Non fiction book reviews

Readers' Favorite Christian - Non-Fiction genre features book reviews for today's newest Christian - Non-Fiction authors, including book award contest winners. Book reviews are essential because they help potential readers make a purchase decision. Sending out review copies for potential review is something every author should include in their marketing plans. The more people who know about your book, the better the chance of building word of mouth buzz. Plan to send out 50 to 500 review copies of your book in both print and digital formats. If you’ve been wondering how to get more book reviews, below you will find a comprehensive list of book review sources, including both free and paid options.

Next

Book reviews for Non-Fiction - Historical - Readers' Favorite: Book Reviews and Award Contest

Non fiction book reviews

Kirkus' editors have sifted through all of this year's books to tell you which rise to the top. Check out the best nonfiction books of 2017. 2077 reviews in Author Q&As, Collections, Contemporary, Fiction, Fantasy, Graphic Novel, Historical Fiction, Literary, Mystery & Suspense, Science Fiction, Short Stories, Young Adult, GBF13, Non-Fiction, Art & Architecture, Biography & Memoir, Business & Economics, Computers & Technology, Cooking & Food, Cultural Studies, Education, English Language & Writing, Essays & Literary Criticism, Gender & Sexuality, History, United States, Humor, Law, Math, Medicine & Health, Mythology, Performing Arts & Entertainment, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Science, Sports & Games, Transportation, Travel, Podcast, Popular A biography of an enigmatic Chinese-born man who moved to the US in the late-1800s, then adopted American dress and customs, started a Chinese American newspaper, and fought for the rights of Chinese in America.

Next

The Right Way to Get Book Reviews - Fiction and Nonfiction | Udemy

Non fiction book reviews

Expert reviews of non-fiction books. Latest releases, recommendations and opinions. Acker emerges as an unlikely literary hero, but an utterly convincing one. Gerard’s prose is lacerating and compassionate at once, showing us both the grand beauty of our American dreams and the heartbreaking devastation they wreak. By meshing small moments—“organs float in jars with wooden number tags”—and the overarching history in which they occur, Nagai speaks to both the individual and to the unifying social trauma […] The book wobbles brilliantly on the border between the known and unknown. As such, we learn as much about Kathy Acker as we do about the mores of the artists and writers who surrounded her in the last three decades of the twentieth century. —These large-hearted, meticulous essays offer an uncanny x-ray of our national psyche, examining that American mess of saints and conmen, the peculiar, culpable innocence that American mess of saints and conmen, the peculiar, culpable innocence that confuses money and moral worth, charity and personal aggrandizement. It recaptures that which draws us to poetry as children, while showing us the even deeper pleasures we are capable of as adults.” —Chicago Tribune Nagai’s descriptions capture something deeper than history books do. Myles gets at something no other dog book I’ve read has gotten at quite this distinctly: The sense of wordless connection and spiritual expansion you feel when you love and are loved by a creature who’s not human . ―Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air, NPRThis is a gossipy, anti-mythic artist biography which feels like it’s being told in one long rush of a monologue over late-night drinks by someone who was there. There is an incantatory element of repetition to “Hunger”: The very short chapters scallop over the reader like waves. It’s raw and affecting, and in its wild snuffling way, utterly original. —Sheila Heti This tiny gem of a book is jam-packed with insights you’ll want to both text to your friends and tattoo on your skin. “Hunger,” like Ta-Nehisi Coates’ “Between the World and Me,” interrogates the fortunes of black bodies in public spaces. —Garth Greenwell The pleasure in Zapruder’s book is in going beyond those feelings into an exploration into the hows and whys of poetry. , a literary vortex that, even in completeness, remains incomplete. It is thrilling, confusing, upsetting, joyous, tedious and profound.

Next

'Heaven is For Real': Fiction or Nonfiction? | The New Republic

Non fiction book reviews

Readers' Favorite Non-Fiction - Gov/Politics genre features book reviews for today's newest Non-Fiction - Gov/Politics authors, including book award contest winners. Did you know that the 29th President of the United States, Warren G. Harding, died in office from a heart attack only eleven days after experiencing pain thought to be just an upset stomach? Or that the 38th President, Gerald Ford, was the first ever... Tillamook Rock Lighthouse: History & Tales of Terrible Tilly is a maritime history book written by Brian D. The Tillamook Lighthouse was the last of three lighthouses that were set up to help mariners safely navigate the Columbia River Bar. Whether your interest is China in the 1930s and 1940s, the industrial cooperative movement, the role of foreigners in relief and development work in Asia, or just a very good biography about an ordinary but extremely talented and courageous Englishman who did extraordinary things in... An Unlikely Trio: The Winners of the 1913 Kentucky Derby is a nonfiction sports racing history book written by Eddie Price. is a creative biography of his maternal grandfather, Frank King (1877-1958). The horse that won the 39th Running of the Kentucky Derby was a long-shot -- the odds placed on him were, and still are,... Born and raised an Englishman of mixed Ojibwa heritage, Frank adopted the United States as his home and served with distinction over a long... Jesus and Muhammad: Their Messages, Side-by-Side by Louis St Michael is a thorough and painstakingly researched compilation of the lives and statements, as proclaimed in the Christian Bible and the Islamic Q'uran, of two of the world's most historically compelling men: Jesus Christ and the... Wildflowers and Train Whistles: Stories of a Coal Mining Family is a memoir written by Lillian Crone Frazer. Frazer grew up in Minden, West Virginia, a small coal mining camp town, during the 1950s and '60s. In a memoir as important to human history and understanding as it is to the specific locale’s true representation of human spirit, Flem R.

Next

Notable Books of 2017 - The New York Times

Non fiction book reviews

Nov 22, 2017. The year's notable fiction, poetry and nonfiction, selected by the editors of The New York Times Book Review. This list represents books reviewed since Dec. 4, 2016, when we published our previous Notables list. Fiction & Poetry. AMERICAN WAR. By Omar El Akkad. Knopf, $26.95. This haunting debut. These words are easy to say but very difficult to truly mean. Anything…word that can open up more than we can possibly imagine. However, when we ask these words sincerely, the rewards can also be unimaginable. King placed these words as the title of her book sending the readers on a trip beyond the conceivable. But with trust in God, and faith, He is with them the entire way. She does not suggest anything that she has not done herself. I know as I read this book I could feel the challenge being placed before me. I also know that by excepting I will be filled with challenges and wonder.

Next

Book Lists & Reviews | Hartford Public Library

Non fiction book reviews

Oct 27, 2016. Pamela Paul. Editor of The New York Times Book Review. HOW TO SEE Looking, Talking, and Thinking About Art, by David Salle. Norton, $29.95. Our critic Dwight Garner hails the painter David Salle's new book, a collection of essays that wrest art away from critics and go in search of aesthetic bliss. Steve Harvey opened most of his shows with a few inspirational lines. Many of his audiences loved that and got used to it over the years. But when his accidental talk about life got recorded and garnered millions of views, Harvey thought that there are millions looking for happiness. So he decided to elaborate on the content of that viral video in , Steve Harvey talks about hopes, dreams, and faith. Faith in yourself and faith that you will be caught when you fall. Faith that will give you the strength to jump and take the leap. Latest Self-Help Book Reviews The author of , Steve Harvey began doing stand-up comedy in the mid-1980s. His success as a stand-up comedian led to the WB’s hit show The Steve Harvey Show, which has won multiple NAACP Image Awards.

Next

Washington Independent Review of Books

Non fiction book reviews

NPR's brings you news about books and authors along with our picks for great reads. Interviews, reviews, the NPR Bestseller Lists, New in Paperback and much more. Welcome to our latest non-fiction and biography book reviews. Non-Fiction stimulates, entertains, educates, and enlightens. We look for new non-fiction books - biographies, science books, art books, and books on humor and entertainment to review that we think are worthy of your time and your hard-earned dollars. Here are our reviews of the best non-fiction books that we've seen recently. Ronald Mendlin shows managers and small business owners how to conquer the problem of managing your time. Mendlin offers some great advice for organizing your office and then moves on to show you how to tackle the tasks you face. We all face the demon procrastination at some time (some of us more than others), and it often ends up with so many things on your To-Do List that you feel you'll never catch up. Prioritization is certainly one key, but so is looking for obstacles - both emotional and organizational - that prevent you from completing the most important jobs. Speaking as a professional procrastinator, I can attest to the value of the lessons presented here. Of special note is the chapter on recognizing and dealing with stress, and understanding how stress can kill productivity. Here's a book that is truly worth the time it takes to read.

Next

Best of 2017: Non-Fiction Books | ENTROPY

Non fiction book reviews

Aug 18, 2015. Book reviews are a powerful tool to create buzz about your upcoming book. As a nonfiction writer, these reviews can be a bit harder to come by since there's generally more critical attention paid to fiction, but here is a technique that has been successful for me Create a Google Alert with the keywords “book. Science Mom's Guide to Water, Part 1 is an educational activity book for children written and illustrated by Jenny Ballif. Water is a pretty ordinary, everyday part of life, right? But what if you could conduct all manner of fun scientific experiments using water and... Bailey is a non-fiction book for mothers-to-be with all the right elements to become a keepsake treasure for her child when they are old enough to appreciate all it entails. Golden Sparkles: An Introduction to Mindfulness is an educational picture book for children written by Catarina R. In her preface to this book, Peterson discusses what is known as mindfulness and how being mindful helps us learn “to pay... Lil’ Boy’s Steps to Goal Achievement: A Goal Setting Journal for Kids by Dr. Jones is a useful tool to guide children in the basic ideas, processes and successes of setting and achieving goals. The author emphasizes how children can take an active...

Next

Nonfiction Book Club Discussion Questions - Generic

Non fiction book reviews

NonFiction Book Reviews is your source for latest non fiction books and new releases in biography, memoir, science, criticism and author interviews. I was taken aback recently to pick up an (unnamed) magazine for which I'd written an article and see my brief bio begin with the words: "Ben Yagoda is a novelist. " I am not a novelist, never have been, and have not (since the age of 15) even had any aspirations in that direction. When I looked into the possible reasons for the error, I came to understand that the person who wrote the bio wasn't misinformed or making stuff up, but rather took "novelist" to mean the same as "author," or, more specifically, "writer of books," and maybe even more specifically than that, "writer of more or less meritorious books." A light bulb went off. I teach mostly writing and journalism workshops, but every once in a while, in class discussions or writing assignments, students will have reason to refer to particular nonfiction books—as I say, meritorious books, so not a guide to using your digital camera or naming your baby—and on numerous occasions they have referred to them as "novels." I never gave this much thought till I had a conversation a few months ago with my colleague Kristen Poole, who teaches Renaissance literature. She told me that her students very frequently write things like "Shakespeare's novel I got on Twitter and sent out a tweet asking people if they were familiar with the "novel = book" custom. Teacher Mitch Nobis responded: "In high school essays, CONSTANTLY." Jack Lynch, a professor of English at Rutgers, said, "Close to universal among the 20-yr-olds I teach. When I do history of the novel, 80% of my effort is breaking that habit." An extremely sharp-eyed person noted that an (unnamed) major metropolitan newspaper, in its obituary of Louis Zamperini, referred to Laura Hillenbrand's book about him, , as a "novel." Lexicographer Jesse Sheidlower helpfully reported that Jonathan Lighter has long been writing about this topic on the listserv of the American Dialect Society discussion list, ADS-L. And sure enough, when I checked the archive, I found that Lighter's bemused observations on the topic went back to 2006, when he unearthed an actual class assignment from an actual (unnamed) school: Nonfiction Literature. Over the course of your summer break, we ask that you read a nonfiction novel concerned with a social issue in anticipation of the upcoming school year. This reading assignment's objective is to expose students to nonfiction material written for young adult and college-level readers. We suggest choosing a "nonfiction novel," he meant something very specific: that the book used the techniques of fiction but was completely factual.

Next

Nonfiction - Los Angeles Review of Books

Non fiction book reviews

SECTION Nonfiction. North South East West · Nancy Jooyoun Kim - January 30, 2018. How could any of them have imagined that a border would divide them? How could anyone have predicted the horror that is now Korea, of being hacked in two? When Didion’s first interview appeared in these pages in 1978, she was intent on exploring her gift for fiction and nonfiction. Since then, her breadth and craft as a writer have only grown deeper with each project. Joan Didion was born in Sacramento, and both her parents, too, were native Californians. She studied English at Berkeley, and in 1956, after graduating, she won an essay contest sponsored by (2003). In the spring of 2005, Didion was awarded a Gold Medal from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In December of 2003, shortly before their fortieth anniversary, Didion’s husband died. Last fall, she published , a book-length meditation on grief and memory. It became a best-seller, and won the National Book Award for nonfiction; Didion is now adapting the book for the stage as a monologue.

Next

Reviews of non-fiction books - Roger Darlington's

Non fiction book reviews

Aug 12, 2017. This book spent 17 weeks on the "New York Times" bestseller list and has been translated into 27 languages, but it is one of the most over-hyped and badly written works of non-fiction that it has ever been my misfortune to read I only continued reading it because I thought - mistakenly - that it must get. The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11 is a 2006 non-fiction book by Lawrence Wright. It is a historical look at the way in which the militant organization Al-Qaeda came into being, the background for various terrorist attacks and how they were investigated, and the events that led to the September 11 attacks. In 2007, Wright was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction for the work. A 10-episode television miniseries adaptation aired in 2018 on Hulu. The Looming Tower is largely focused on the people who conspired to commit the September 11 attacks, their motives and personalities, and how they interacted. The book starts with Sayyid Qutb, an Egyptian religious scholar who visited the United States in the late 1940s and returned to his home to become an anti-West Islamist and eventually a martyr for his beliefs. There is also a portrait of Ayman al-Zawahiri, from his childhood in Egypt to his participation in and later leadership of Egyptian Islamic Jihad to his merging of his organization with Al Qaeda. Osama bin Laden is the person described the most, from his childhood in Saudi Arabia in a rich family, his participation in the jihad against the Soviet Union in Afghanistan, his role as a financier of terrorist groups, his stay in Sudan, his return to Afghanistan and his interactions with the Taliban. O'Neill, an Assistant Deputy Director of Investigation for the FBI who served as America's top bin Laden hunter until his retirement from the FBI in August 2001, after which he got a job as head of security at the World Trade Center, where he died in the 9/11 attacks.

Next

A Review of the 37 Best Narrative Nonfiction Books for Kids | WeHaveKids

Non fiction book reviews

Nonfiction book reviews from The Washington Post. Tikkunim: Corrections is a collection of articles and essays by Jewish-American journalist Jesse Bogner. His personal transformation from the addictive lifestyle of a decadent and elitist New Yorker to a student of Kabbalah in Israel is outlined in his memoir The Egotist. Millennials, America's Greatness Depends on You by Jillion R Rising redefines the American identity and proposes a vision of a world that could belong to the millennials. Addressed specifically to the millennials, this book takes a very critical look at America’s journey up to the... I really enjoyed reading The Decline of Democratic Society in the New Age by Giovanni Soriano. When I was in university, I took a lot of political science classes.

Next

Book Review - The New York Times

Non fiction book reviews

Nonfiction. An Irish Flâneur, Greeting the Past on His Present Wanderings. John Banville's “Time Pieces” takes the acclaimed novelist back to the Dublin of his youth, recalling people and places that still live in his memory. February 19, 2018 By ROGER ROSENBLATT. Most of us are familiar with what is called “expository nonfiction.” These are the texts that explain the "Bill of Rights" or describe the planets of the solar system. Simply put, it’s a text that gets factual information across in a form that uses many of the elements of storytelling. An author of narrative nonfiction will typically introduce an actual character (perhaps a baseball player or a baby polar bear at the zoo) and narrate some sort of experience or journey that character has taken, all the while teaching kids a thing or two about history or zoology along the way. By using a narrative structure (first this happened, then that, and that, and that), writers can relate nonfiction material using many of the techniques of the storyteller: characterization, dramatic tensions, foreshadowing, etc. Narrative nonfiction provides kids with information in a format that is interesting to them. On the other hand, when my husband was a boy, he disdained the lady who wanted him to read about a mouse riding a motorcycle and instead chose to read nonfiction books about Hannibal crossing the Alps with his elephants or an informational book called Back then, the teachers prized my kind of reading and tolerated my husband’s nonfiction. The new Common Core State Standards for our nation’s schools emphasizes reading nonfiction — especially narrative nonfiction — in order to develop a student’s skills in understanding and analyzing informative texts.

Next

Writing a fiction or non-fiction review | Oxford Dictionaries

Non fiction book reviews

Dec 31, 2017. Spies, suffragettes and Mary Shelley feature heavily in next year's nonfiction lists – along with essays from the likes of Zadie Smith, Graham Swift and Amos Oz. I don’t want to belittle the genre’s past by calling this year a “comeback,” but it certainly seems like the essay is having a moment, particularly in the literary world. Thanks to places like , a new essay goes viral every week, and it seems like publishers are printing more collections than they were a few years ago. From essays to biography and history, here are the best nonfiction books of 2017 according to the editors and contributors at the The Wrong Way to Save Your Life By Megan Stielstra Harper Perennial “Megan Stielstra’s third essay collection cements her as one of Chicago’s strongest literary voices. Whether she’s dissecting dear hearts, watching her home burn down, worrying about her father’s health, or struggling against academic bureaucracy, Megan’s brings humor and insight to bear on her deepest fears.” —Adam Morgan Here’s our conversation with Stielstra about the book, which won the 2017 Chicago Review of Books Award for Creative Nonfiction. Durga Chew-Bose FSG Originals “Montreal born Durga Chew-Bose’s first book is a collection of fourteen untamed essays sprung from a fiercely original mind on first-generation identity, childhood, growing up, family, relationships, nostalgia, writing, and life philosophy. especially the collection’s masterpiece, “Heart Museum”…to remind yourself that you have five senses, that you have a backstory that brought you to now, that you should call your parents and listen to their stories, that you just might be ‘a nook person’ and if so you’re not alone, and that it’s crucial in life “to preserve a sense of the special.” A stunning debut, A Surprised Queenhood in the New Black Sun By Angela Jackson Beacon Press “Angela Jackson has written the definitive biography of Gwendolyn Brooks, Chicago’s patron saint of poetry who would have turned 100 this year.

Next